Our Team

The Team That Cares

The Institute has a team of highly skilled personnel; most of them pioneer in their respective fields since its inception in Nepal. Their experiences and skills bring forth the highest standards of patient care. The team is guided by internationally accepted protocols and integrated care pathways. A robust audit system is planned to ensure continual improvement. What truly distinguishes us is the firm belief that while delivering the highest standards of care, we must never forget the basic human values of compassion, and caring with integrity and to the best of our ability.

Our Doctors & Care Providers


Dr. Dinesh Nath Gongal, MS, FRCSEd,
Senior Consultant and Director of Academics
Chief of Surgery, Bir Hospital
Founding Director, National Academy of Medical Sciences

Prof. Upendra P Devkota, FRCS, FNAMS
Founder and Senior Consultant of the Institute
Chief of Neurosurgery, Bir Hospital
Minister for Health, Science and Technology
Government of Nepal

Prof. Terrence D Hope, FRCS
University of Nottingham, U.K.
Visiting Consultant


Dr.Ramesh Man Joshi, MS, M.Ch.

Dr. Ajit Shrestha, MS, M.Ch.

Dr. Gunraj Poudel, MBBS, MS, M.Ch. (Resident)

Dr. Bidur K.C., MBBS, MS, M.Ch. (Resident)

Dr. Nikunj Yogi, MBBS, MS, M.Ch. (Resident)

Dr. Suraj Thulung, MBBS, MS, M.Ch. (Resident)

Dr. Shyam Babu Prasad, MBBS, FCPS (Resident)

Dr. Shikher Shrestha, MBBS, FCPS (Resident)


Dr. Madhav P Gautam, MBBS, DA, FRCAT

Dr. Mayush Munankami, MBBS, MD

Dr. Sarita  Shrestha, MD



Assoc Prof. Vidya Dev Sharma
DPM,MSc. (Psy)
MCPS(Psych), MPH

Orthopaedics & Trauma

Dr. Shishir Lakhey


Dr. Ram Kumar Ghimire
MBBS, MD Radiology

Dr. Ankur Shah, MBBS, MD


Dr. Rajesh Panta
Mr. Ganesh Thapa

Mr. Dipendra Yadav



Dr. Prakash Kafle


Dr. Anand Kumar Sharma

Nursing Department

Ms. Urmila Shrestha

Ms. Geeta Acharya
Asst. Matron

Ms. Sita Neupane
Asst. Matron


Physiotherapy - Rehabilitation

Ms. Pratima Palikhey, BPT


Mr. Sanjaya Lama


Epidemiology and Research

Dr. Madhu Devkota
MBBS, DCH (UK), MScPH (Heidelberg)


Visiting Consultants

A strong team of visiting consultants of national stature in Internal Medicine, Cardiology, Cardio-thoracic and Vascular Surgery, General Surgery and Respiratory Medicine that the institution has managed to put in its panel, gives the patients the additional safety of their services at the time of need.

Cardio-Vascular & Chest Surgery

Dr. Bhagwan Koirala, MS


Dr. Man Bahadur KC, MD
Dr. Yadav Bhatta, MBBS, MD, DM
Dr. Sujeev Rajbhandari, MD
Dr. Rabi Malla, MD
Dr. Diwakar Sharma, MD

Internal Medicine & Respiratory Medicine

Prof. Ranjan Singh, MD
Dr. B. Srivastav, MD
Dr. Jitendra Kaji Shrestha, MD

General Surgery

Prof. Rajesh Nath Gongal, MBBS, FRCS
Dr. Naresh Giri, MS